סגור פרטי קוקיה

אתר זה משתמש ב"עוגיות". למד עוד על עוגיות

OverDrive מעוניין להשתמש בעוגיות כדי לשמור מידע על המחשב שלך, בכדי לשפר את חוויית המשתמש שלך באתר שלנו. אחת מהעוגיות בהן אנחנו משתמשים היא הכרחית לתפעולם של היבטים מסוימים של האתר וכבר הותקנה. את/ה יכול/ה למחוק ולחסום את כל העוגיות מאתר זה, אבל זה עלול להשפיע על תכונות או שירותים מסוימים של האתר. כדי ללמוד עוד על העוגיות בהן אנחנו משתמשים ועל איך מוחקים אותן, ליחץ/י כאן כדי לראות את מגיניות הפרטיות שלנו.

אם את/ה לא רוצה להמשיך,אנא לחץ/י כאן כדי לצאת מהאתר.

הסתר הודעה

  ניווט ראשי
Dead Inside
תמונה של  Dead Inside
Dead Inside
A True Story
מאת Cyndy Etler
קח בהשאלה קח בהשאלה

"[An] unnerving and heartrending memoir..."—Publishers Weekly

Straight Inc. was supposed to be give them hope. Instead, it gave them hell.

I never was a badass. Or a slut, a junkie, a stoner, like they told me I was. I was just a kid looking for something good, something that felt like love. I was a wannabe in a Levi's jean jacket. Anybody could see that. Except my mother. And the professionals at Straight.

From the outside, Straight Inc. was a drug rehab. But on the inside it was...well, it was something else.

All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a "drug rehabilitation" facility that changed her world.

To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to "treat" its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered "healing."

"[An] unnerving and heartrending memoir..."—Publishers Weekly

Straight Inc. was supposed to be give them hope. Instead, it gave them hell.

I never was a badass. Or a slut, a junkie, a stoner, like they told me I was. I was just a kid looking for something good, something that felt like love. I was a wannabe in a Levi's jean jacket. Anybody could see that. Except my mother. And the professionals at Straight.

From the outside, Straight Inc. was a drug rehab. But on the inside it was...well, it was something else.

All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a "drug rehabilitation" facility that changed her world.

To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to "treat" its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered "healing."

פורמטים זמינים-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
שפות:-
עותקים-
  • זמין:
    1
  • עותקים בספריה:
    1
רמות-
  • רמת ATOS:
    4.6
  • מדדLexile :
    640
  • רמת עניין:
    UG
  • קושי טקסט:
    2 - 3

מומלץ(ים) עבורך

ביקורות-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    January 30, 2017
    Etler’s unnerving and heartrending memoir begins in 1980s Connecticut when she was 13; Cyndy’s father died years earlier, leaving her in the care of her mother, whose second husband sexually abused Cyndy. When Cyndy began fighting back and attempting to escape, she fell in with a bad crowd from nearby Bridgeport. Choosing to enter foster care rather than live with her mother, Cyndy was eventually sent to Straight, Incorporated, an ostensible rehab program/“boarding school” where she spent more than a year being abused, bullied, and brainwashed into believing she was a drug addict. Given Etler’s recounting of absurd and abusive scare tactics such as “spit therapy,” in which Straightlings are spit on by higher-ranking children, and “carrying,” in which newcomers are carted around by their belt loops and underwear, readers may be stunned that a place like Straight could exist, let alone that a parent would willingly send a child there. Details about the history of Straight, Inc., are included in an afterword, not seen by PW. Ages 14–up. Agent: Myrsini Stephanides, Carol Mann Agency.

  • Kirkus

    February 1, 2017
    In this debut memoir, Etler takes readers on a harrowing journey into Straight Inc., a nightmarish drug rehab that used controversial methods to "treat" its patients. At 14, Cyndy Etler was a white teenager desperately looking for a place to belong. Trying to escape from the abusive hands of her stepfather, she finds solace in Pink Floyd, God, and Bridgeport, the Connecticut city where she can escape with her best friend on weekends. When her mother reports her as a runaway, she sets off a chain of events that lands Cyndy at Straight Inc., a drug-rehabilitation facility in Virginia. Bewildered, Cyndy is sure she will be released as soon as the staff realizes she is not a drug addict. She cannot imagine that she will be stuck in this place--"a warehouse, literally...where, for a fee, parents can disappear their fuckups and rejects"--for the next 16 months. The treatment at Straight is bizarre and abusive, consisting largely of peer-led intimidation, emotional abuse, and mind games where the extensive rules are strictly enforced by the "group." Cyndy's progression into Stockholm syndrome is shocking yet wholly believable. Etler channels her younger self's voice with pitch-perfect verisimilitude as Cyndy goes from wide-eyed disbelief to acquiescence, having finally found a place where she feels like she belongs. An epilogue offers a redemptive conclusion, and an author's note provides chilling context for Straight's history and Cyndy's story. Raw and absorbing, Etler's voice captivates. (author's note) (Memoir. 15 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    March 1, 2017

    Gr 9 Up-In 1985, when 14-year-old runaway Etler was given the choice by police to either go home or be placed into foster care, she chose the latter. At home, she was routinely molested by her stepfather; her mother knew but denied it. Although being in foster care worked well for Etler, she was later transferred by her parents to Straight Inc., a drug treatment facility that turned out to be a cultlike organization bent on "rehabilitating" teen patients through abuse and isolation tactics. Etler's harrowing story details Straight Inc.'s bizarre rules, routines, and practices and her eventual chilling transformation into a true believer. The writing is fast-paced, and references to 1980s slang, music, and culture abound. Fans of dystopian novels, books about cults, and survival stories will find this account impossible to put down. Previously self-published in 2012 as Straightling: A Memoir, this is the first installment in Etler's story, with a sequel already in the works. Back matter offers further information on Straight Inc. Readers will be relieved to learn that the enterprise closed in 1993 but should be unsettled to discover that similar facilities still exist. VERDICT A can't-miss memoir for fans of Ellen Hopkins and Laura Wiess.-Miriam DesHarnais, Towson University, MD

    Copyright 2017 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • GERM magazine "Etler's story is both inspiring and completely shocking; this is a memoir unlike anything else on the shelves today."
  • Publishers Weekly "[An] unnerving and heartrending memoir... readers may be stunned that a place like Straight could exist, let alone that a parent would willingly send a child there."
פרטי כותר+
  • מו"ל
    Sourcebooks
  • OverDrive Read
    תאריך יציאה:
  • EPUB eBook
    תאריך יציאה:
מידע על זכויות דיגיטליות+
  • הגנת זכויות יוצרים (DRM) הנדרשת על ידי המוציא לאור יכולה להיות מופעלת על הכותר הזה על מנת להגביל או לאסור הדפסה והעתקה. שיתוף קבצים והפצה אסורים. הגישה שלכם לגשת לחומר הזה פגה בסוף תקופת ההשאלה. אנא ראו I הערה חשובה לגבי חומר המוגן בזכויות יוצרים עבור תנאים המיושמים על החומר הזה.

Status bar:

הגעת למכסת ההשאלות שלך.

בקר במדף ספריםשלך כדי לנהל את הכותרים שלך.

Close

הכותר הזה כבר מושאל על ידך

רוצה לגשת למדף הספרים שלך?

Close

המלצה. הגעת למכסה.

הגעתם למספר הכותרים המקסימאלי עליו ניתן להמליץ כרגע. ניתן להמליץ על עד 99 כותרים בכל 1 ימים

Close

היכנס כדי להמליץ על כותר זה.

המלץ לספרייה שלך לשקול להוסיף את הכותר הזה לאוסף הדיגיטל

Close

פרטים משופרים

Close
Close

זמינות מוגבלת

כותרים בכל חודש כאשר הזמינות "מוגבלת".

כותר זמין למשך מים.

ברגע שההשמעה מתחילה, יש לכם, you have שעות לצפות בכותר.

Close

הרשאות

Close

לפורמט OverDrive Read של הספר האלקטרוני הזה קיימת קריינות מקצועית המופעלת בזמן שהנך קורא בדפדפן שלך. למידע נוסף לחץ כאן.

Close

הזמנות

סך כל ההזמנות:


Close

מוגבל

חלק מאפשרויות הפורמט נוטרלו. ייתכן שתוצגנה אפשרויות הורדה נוספות מחוץ לרשת זו.

Close

הגעת למגבלת ההשאלה של כותרים דיגיטליים בכרטיס שלך.

על מנת לפנות מקום לעוד השאלות, ייתכן ותוכל להחזיר כותרים ממדף הספרים שלך.

Close

עברת את מכסת ההשאלה.

היו יותר מדי כותרים שנלקחו בהשאלה והוחזרו בחשבון שלך במשך זמן קצר.

נסה שוב בעוד מספר ימים. אם אינך יכול לבדוק כותרים אחרי 7 ימים, צור קשר עם התמיכה.

Close

כבר בדקת את הכותר הזה. על מנת לקבל גישה אליו, חזור ל- מדף הספרים.

Close

הכותר הזה לא זמין עבור סוג הכרטיס שלך. אם אתה חושב שזו טעות צור קשר עם התמיכה.

Close

אירעה שגיאה בלתי צפויה.

אם השגיאה נמשכת, צור קשר עם התמיכה.

Close

Close

שים לב Barnes and Noble® עשויים לשנות רשימת מכשירים אלה, בכל עת.

Close
קנה עכשיו
ותן לספריה שלך עוד WIN!
Dead Inside
Dead Inside
A True Story
Cyndy Etler
בחר שותף קמעונאי להלן, כדי לקנות הכותר הזה בעבורך.
חלק מרכישה זו מופנה לתמיכה בספרייה שלך.
Close
Close

לא נותרו עותקים להשאלה מכותר זה, נא לסה לשאול כותר זה שוב כאשר תצא מהדורה חדשה.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   כניסה

בדף הבא תתבקש להתחבר לחשבון הספריה שלך.

אם זו הפעם הראשונה בה אתה מסמן "שלח ל-NOOK", תועבר לדף של Branes & Noble כדי להתחבר (או ליצור) לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך. אתה צריך להירשם לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך פעם אחת כדי לקשר אותו לחשבון הספריה שלך. לאחר השלב החד-פעמי הזה, כתבי העת יישלחו אוטומטית לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך כשתסמן "שלח ל-NOOK".

בפעם הראשונה שתבחר "שלח ל-NOOK" תועבר לדף של Barnes & Noble כדי להיכנס (או ליצור) את חשבון ה-NOOK שלך. תצטרך להיכנס לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך פעם אחת בלבד, כדי לקשר אותו לחשבון הספריה שלך. לאחר הצעד החד-פעמי הזה כתבי עת יישלחו באופן אוטומטי לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך, NOOKכשתבחר "שלח ל-".

ניתן לקרוא כתבי עת על כל מחשב לוח של NOOK או ביישום הקריאה של NOOK עבור iOS, Android או Windows 8 .

אשר כדי להמשיךבטל