סגור פרטי קוקיה

אתר זה משתמש ב"עוגיות". למד עוד על עוגיות

OverDrive מעוניין להשתמש בעוגיות כדי לשמור מידע על המחשב שלך, בכדי לשפר את חוויית המשתמש שלך באתר שלנו. אחת מהעוגיות בהן אנחנו משתמשים היא הכרחית לתפעולם של היבטים מסוימים של האתר וכבר הותקנה. את/ה יכול/ה למחוק ולחסום את כל העוגיות מאתר זה, אבל זה עלול להשפיע על תכונות או שירותים מסוימים של האתר. כדי ללמוד עוד על העוגיות בהן אנחנו משתמשים ועל איך מוחקים אותן, ליחץ/י כאן כדי לראות את מגיניות הפרטיות שלנו.

אם את/ה לא רוצה להמשיך,אנא לחץ/י כאן כדי לצאת מהאתר.

הסתר הודעה

  ניווט ראשי
Leech
תמונה של  Leech
Leech
מאת Hiron Ennes

'A wonderful new entry to Gothic science fiction, impeccably clever and atmospheric. Think Wuthering Heights . . . with worms!' – Tamsyn Muir, author of Gideon the Ninth
'Highly recommended. I'll be reading anything Hiron Ennes writes from now on' – Tade Thompson, author of Rosewater
In an isolated chateau, as far north as north goes, the baron's doctor has died. The Interprovincial Medical Institute sends out a replacement. But when the new physician investigates the cause of death, which appears to be suicide, there's a mystery to solve. It seems the good doctor was hosting a parasite. Yet this should have been impossible, as the physician was already possessed – by the Institute.
The Institute is here to help humanity, to cure and to cut, to cradle and protect the species from the horrors their ancestors unleashed. For hundreds of years, it has taken root in young minds and shaped them into doctors, replacing every human practitioner of medicine. But now there's competition. For in the baron's icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, the parasite is spreading . . .
These two enemies will make war within the battlefield of the body. Whichever wins, will humanity lose again?
Leech by Hiron Ennes is an atmospheric Gothic triumph, perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Silvia Moreno-Garcia.

'A wonderful new entry to Gothic science fiction, impeccably clever and atmospheric. Think Wuthering Heights . . . with worms!' – Tamsyn Muir, author of Gideon the Ninth
'Highly recommended. I'll be reading anything Hiron Ennes writes from now on' – Tade Thompson, author of Rosewater
In an isolated chateau, as far north as north goes, the baron's doctor has died. The Interprovincial Medical Institute sends out a replacement. But when the new physician investigates the cause of death, which appears to be suicide, there's a mystery to solve. It seems the good doctor was hosting a parasite. Yet this should have been impossible, as the physician was already possessed – by the Institute.
The Institute is here to help humanity, to cure and to cut, to cradle and protect the species from the horrors their ancestors unleashed. For hundreds of years, it has taken root in young minds and shaped them into doctors, replacing every human practitioner of medicine. But now there's competition. For in the baron's icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, the parasite is spreading . . .
These two enemies will make war within the battlefield of the body. Whichever wins, will humanity lose again?
Leech by Hiron Ennes is an atmospheric Gothic triumph, perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Silvia Moreno-Garcia.

פורמטים זמינים-
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
שפות:-
עותקים-
  • זמין:
    0
  • עותקים בספריה:
    1
רמות-
  • רמת ATOS:
  • מדדLexile :
  • רמת עניין:
  • קושי טקסט:

מומלץ(ים) עבורך

על המחבר-
  • Hiron Ennes is a writer, musician and student of medicine based in the Pacific Northwest. Their areas of interest include infectious disease, pathology and anticapitalist healthcare reform. When they're not hunched over a microscope or Word document they can be found playing in the snow or playing the harp (though usually not at the same time). They're queer in every sense of the word, and they really want to pet your dog. Leech is their first novel.

ביקורות-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from July 4, 2022
    Emotionally complex, wildly inventive, and full of squirming terror, Ennes’s debut begins when the doctor assigned to the Château de Verdira dies under mysterious circumstances. The Interprovincial Medical Institute sends another of their own to replace him. The nameless protagonist arrives on a mission to discover how the previous doctor died while harboring one of the biggest secrets in this postapocalyptic world: the Institute is not only a medical association. It’s a hivemind of parasites that have systemically taken over the minds and bodies of every human medical professional to fulfill a mandate to protect and care for the human race—who have proven incapable of doing so themselves. The death of the chateau’s previous doctor marks the first time the Institute’s lost a body without remembering how. As the protagonist discovers it’s not the only parasite within the chateau’s walls, both the health of the chateau’s residents and the ironclad hold the Institute has on its hosts begin to crumble. Ennes builds a postapocalyptic world with an expansive history and innumerable creeping horrors hiding in its shadows. The author’s greatest strength is in narrative voice, rendering the Institute’s hivemind with laser precision. This is a must-read for readers looking for something new from the horror genre. Agent: Alexander Cochran, C&W.

  • Tamsyn Muir, author of Gideon the Ninth A wonderful new entry to Gothic science fiction, impeccably clever and atmospheric. Think Wuthering Heights . . . with worms!
  • Tade Thompson Leech isn't like anything I've read before. Superb writing, interesting and fresh ideas, skilful execution. Highly recommended. I'll be reading anything Hiron Ennes writes from now on
  • Cassandra Khaw I didn't know a book could perfectly convey the concept of a distributed intelligence, alive and aware of each of its proxies, but Leech is proof anything is possible in good hands
  • Peter Watts If you've ever wondered what would happen if David Cronenberg and Edgar Allen Poe bumped into each other at the same parasitological conference, here's your answer
  • Django Wexler Leech is wonderful, with a truly unique protagonist, a goeey, squicky post-apocalyptic setting, and a dose of Gormenghast gothic. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and The Traitor
  • Kameron Hurley A tense, disturbing work of Gothic horror that embraces difficult themes of power, abuse, agency and raw survival in an unforgettably apocalyptic setting. Gory, shocking, raw – and utterly humane
  • The Times Hiron Ennes's debut is an intricate, well-observed marooned-community thriller
  • Financial Times Uniquely compelling
פרטי כותר+
  • מו"ל
    Pan Macmillan
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    תאריך יציאה:
מידע על זכויות דיגיטליות+
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    צרוב לדיסק: 
    מורשה
    העבר למכשיר: 
    מורשה
    העבר למכשיר Apple® 
    מורשה
    הופעה ציבורית: 
    לא מורשה
    שיתוף-קבצים: 
    לא מורשה
    שימוש עמית-לעמית 
    לא מורשה
    כל העותקים של הכותר הזה, כולל אלו שהועברו למכשירים ניידים ומדיה אחרת, חייבים להימחק/להיהרס בסופה של תקופת ההשאלה.

Status bar:

הגעת למכסת ההשאלות שלך.

בקר במדף ספריםשלך כדי לנהל את הכותרים שלך.

Close

הכותר הזה כבר מושאל על ידך

רוצה לגשת למדף הספרים שלך?

Close

המלצה. הגעת למכסה.

הגעתם למספר הכותרים המקסימאלי עליו ניתן להמליץ כרגע. ניתן להמליץ על עד 99 כותרים בכל 1 ימים

Close

היכנס כדי להמליץ על כותר זה.

המלץ לספרייה שלך לשקול להוסיף את הכותר הזה לאוסף הדיגיטל

Close

פרטים משופרים

Close
Close

זמינות מוגבלת

כותרים בכל חודש כאשר הזמינות "מוגבלת".

כותר זמין למשך מים.

ברגע שההשמעה מתחילה, יש לכם, you have שעות לצפות בכותר.

Close

הרשאות

Close

לפורמט OverDrive Read של הספר האלקטרוני הזה קיימת קריינות מקצועית המופעלת בזמן שהנך קורא בדפדפן שלך. למידע נוסף לחץ כאן.

Close

הזמנות

סך כל ההזמנות:


Close

מוגבל

חלק מאפשרויות הפורמט נוטרלו. ייתכן שתוצגנה אפשרויות הורדה נוספות מחוץ לרשת זו.

Close

בחריין, מצריים, הונגקונג עיראק, ישראל, ירדן, כווית, לבנון, לוב, מאוריטניה, מרוקו, עומאן, פלסטין, קטאר, ערב הסעודית, סודן, הרפובליקה הערבית הסורית, טוניס, תורכיה, איחוד האמירויות הערביות ותימן

Close

הגעת למגבלת ההשאלה של כותרים דיגיטליים בכרטיס שלך.

על מנת לפנות מקום לעוד השאלות, ייתכן ותוכל להחזיר כותרים ממדף הספרים שלך.

Close

עברת את מכסת ההשאלה.

היו יותר מדי כותרים שנלקחו בהשאלה והוחזרו בחשבון שלך במשך זמן קצר.

נסה שוב בעוד מספר ימים. אם אינך יכול לבדוק כותרים אחרי 7 ימים, צור קשר עם התמיכה.

Close

כבר בדקת את הכותר הזה. על מנת לקבל גישה אליו, חזור ל- מדף הספרים.

Close

הכותר הזה לא זמין עבור סוג הכרטיס שלך. אם אתה חושב שזו טעות צור קשר עם התמיכה.

Close

אירעה שגיאה בלתי צפויה.

אם השגיאה נמשכת, צור קשר עם התמיכה.

Close

Close

שים לב Barnes and Noble® עשויים לשנות רשימת מכשירים אלה, בכל עת.

Close
קנה עכשיו
ותן לספריה שלך עוד WIN!
Leech
Leech
Hiron Ennes
בחר שותף קמעונאי להלן, כדי לקנות הכותר הזה בעבורך.
חלק מרכישה זו מופנה לתמיכה בספרייה שלך.
Close
Close

לא נותרו עותקים להשאלה מכותר זה, נא לסה לשאול כותר זה שוב כאשר תצא מהדורה חדשה.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   כניסה

בדף הבא תתבקש להתחבר לחשבון הספריה שלך.

אם זו הפעם הראשונה בה אתה מסמן "שלח ל-NOOK", תועבר לדף של Branes & Noble כדי להתחבר (או ליצור) לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך. אתה צריך להירשם לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך פעם אחת כדי לקשר אותו לחשבון הספריה שלך. לאחר השלב החד-פעמי הזה, כתבי העת יישלחו אוטומטית לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך כשתסמן "שלח ל-NOOK".

בפעם הראשונה שתבחר "שלח ל-NOOK" תועבר לדף של Barnes & Noble כדי להיכנס (או ליצור) את חשבון ה-NOOK שלך. תצטרך להיכנס לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך פעם אחת בלבד, כדי לקשר אותו לחשבון הספריה שלך. לאחר הצעד החד-פעמי הזה כתבי עת יישלחו באופן אוטומטי לחשבון ה-NOOK שלך, NOOKכשתבחר "שלח ל-".

ניתן לקרוא כתבי עת על כל מחשב לוח של NOOK או ביישום הקריאה של NOOK עבור iOS, Android או Windows 8 .

אשר כדי להמשיךבטל