Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Click
Cover of Click
Click

For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you "click" in middle school.
Olive wants to get in on the act . . .
. . . Any act!
Olive "clicks" with everyone in the fifth grade—until one day she doesn't. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends have already formed their own groups . . . without her. With the performance drawing closer by the minute, will Olive be able to find her own place in the show before the curtain comes up?
Author-illustrator Kayla Miller has woven together a heartfelt and insightful story about navigating friendships, leaning on family, and learning to take the stage in the most important role of all.

For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you "click" in middle school.
Olive wants to get in on the act . . .
. . . Any act!
Olive "clicks" with everyone in the fifth grade—until one day she doesn't. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends have already formed their own groups . . . without her. With the performance drawing closer by the minute, will Olive be able to find her own place in the show before the curtain comes up?
Author-illustrator Kayla Miller has woven together a heartfelt and insightful story about navigating friendships, leaning on family, and learning to take the stage in the most important role of all.

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
    2.8
  • Lexile:
    360
  • Interest Level:
    MG
  • Text Difficulty:
    K - 2

Recommended for you

 
Awards-
About the Author-
  • Kayla Miller is an illustrator and cartoonist with a BFA from the University of Arts in Philadelphia. She is the creator of Creep, a web comic series about a boy who gains weird superhero-like powers. Kayla regularly attends conventions to promote her work and meet other artists. tapastic.com/series/Creep

Reviews-
  • School Library Journal

    October 1, 2018

    Gr 3-6-Outgoing fifth grader Olive has a problem: she's good friends with almost everyone in her class, but she isn't best friends with anyone. She's perfectly happy in her role as floating social butterfly until it comes time for the big variety show, when all her friends form acts without her before she realizes what's going on. Olive sinks slowly into depression as she fails to "click" with any of her cliquey friend groups, until funky, green-haired Aunt Molly invites her over for an aunt-niece sleepover. After spending the night watching old TV variety shows, Olive is inspired by the witty hosts and hostesses who introduce and banter with the acts on their shows, and dreams about taking on that role herself for the variety show. Can she convince her friends and family that this is the right fit for her? Heavy lines and calm pastels create the perfect tone to offset this introspective story of self-discovery. Well-defined, consistent frames and gutters, along with clear-cut visual storytelling and readable lettering, make this an excellent recommendation for fans of the format and newcomers alike. VERDICT Those who enjoy Raina Telgemeier, Victoria Jamieson, and the like will find this a lighter but welcome addition and be happy to hear Olive's adventures will continue.-Darla Salva Cruz, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, Bellport, NY

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    October 29, 2018
    Olive has lots of friends at school, but when Mr. Florez announces the fifth grade talent show, no one invites her to be part of an act. Feeling abandoned, Olive experiences an existential crisis about her place in the universe, complete with anxiety dreams, advice sessions with her aunt, and tense confrontations with her mother. She’s confused about how to address her feelings of alienation without begging to be included, but eventually, she finds inspiration for her role in the show, as well as insight into how she fits in with her friends. Thick lines, pastel colors, and uncluttered panels help make the story easy and enjoyable to follow. In both the text and art, Miller’s debut authentically conveys nuanced challenges and everyday moments of childhood, offering a guide for kids navigating friendship, family, and goals. Ages 10–12.

  • Booklist

    October 15, 2018
    Grades 5-7 Olive is well-liked by her pals and peers in school, but she is distraught when her teacher announces the fifth-grade variety show, and everyone else immediately groups up without her. Who can't relate to feeling left out? Miller has introduced a rather large cast in this lovely debut, but everyone is distinct, and there are cues within each warmly illustrated, full-color panel to help keep readers on track. And speaking of visual cues, this is one of those books in which the silent panels say just as much as the ones with word balloons. Olive is a family-oriented girl and leans on her mother and aunt when she runs into her insecurities, and it feels like a real win when she figures out what her place is going to be among her classmates. Kids who have ever worried about their friendships or popularity will find solidarity in Olive's familiar story. This story of a kid learning how to use her voice will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale's Real Friends (2017).(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2018, American Library Association.)

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HMH Books
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Click
Click
Kayla Miller
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel