Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
The Color of Lies
Cover of The Color of Lies
The Color of Lies
by CJ Lyons

A gripping young adult suspense novel drenched in color, mystery, and lies; set in the sense-blending world of Synesthesia. New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons grabs you and won't let go, keeping you guessing until the very last page of The Color of Lies.

When you can see emotions in color, motives become black and white. Even murder.

High school senior Ella Cleary has always been able to read people. And for good reason: she has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses, allowing Ella to see colors that reveal people's true emotions. Everyone but Alec's.

Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life ... until he reveals the real reason he sought her out. He wants to learn the truth behind her parents' deaths. And Ella's world turns upside down when Alec tells her their deaths were not an accident.

After learning her entire life is based on a lie, Ella doesn't know who she can trust or even who she truly is. With family secrets slowly revealed and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

The Color of Lies:

  • Clean YA suspense with themes of mystery, romance, and friendship—a must-read for readers ages 13 and up
  • By New York Times and USA Today bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons, whose adult suspense novels have sold over 2 million copies in print and digital
  • Features the little-known and fascinating condition synesthesia, in which people may see sounds, taste words, or feel sensations on their skin when they smell certain scents
  • Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown
  • A gripping young adult suspense novel drenched in color, mystery, and lies; set in the sense-blending world of Synesthesia. New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons grabs you and won't let go, keeping you guessing until the very last page of The Color of Lies.

    When you can see emotions in color, motives become black and white. Even murder.

    High school senior Ella Cleary has always been able to read people. And for good reason: she has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses, allowing Ella to see colors that reveal people's true emotions. Everyone but Alec's.

    Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life ... until he reveals the real reason he sought her out. He wants to learn the truth behind her parents' deaths. And Ella's world turns upside down when Alec tells her their deaths were not an accident.

    After learning her entire life is based on a lie, Ella doesn't know who she can trust or even who she truly is. With family secrets slowly revealed and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

    The Color of Lies:

  • Clean YA suspense with themes of mystery, romance, and friendship—a must-read for readers ages 13 and up
  • By New York Times and USA Today bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons, whose adult suspense novels have sold over 2 million copies in print and digital
  • Features the little-known and fascinating condition synesthesia, in which people may see sounds, taste words, or feel sensations on their skin when they smell certain scents
  • Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown
  • Available formats-
    • OverDrive Read
    • EPUB eBook
    Languages:-
    Copies-
    • Available:
      0
    • Library copies:
      1
    Levels-
    • ATOS:
    • Lexile:
    • Interest Level:
    • Text Difficulty:

    Recommended for you

    About the Author-
    • Pediatric ER doctor turned New York Times bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons has been a storyteller all her life—something that landed her in many time-outs as a kid. She writes her Thrillers with Heart for the same reason that she became a doctor: because she believes we each have the power to change our world.

      In the ER she witnessed many acts of courage by her patients and their families, learning that heroes truly are born every day. When not writing, she can be found walking the beaches near her Lowcountry home, listening to the voices in her head and plotting new and devious ways to create mayhem for her characters.

      To learn more about her Thrillers with Heart go to www.CJLyons.net

    Reviews-
    • School Library Journal

      October 1, 2018

      Gr 8 Up-Eighteen-year-old Ella Cleary can tell when you're lying. She is able to see colors that let her know the true emotions of any person she is talking to. That is, until she meets Alec. He makes Ella feel normal for the first time in her life and she finds herself drawn to him. However, Alec reveals that he is a fledgling journalist who has sought her out to solve the mystery of her parent's deaths in a fire 15 years earlier. Ella has always been told that their deaths were an accident. The only way for the protagonist to learn the truth is to find the killer. This is a well-constructed mystery and a quick read, taking place over the span of just a couple of days, with plenty of twists and turns to keep even the most distracted reader engaged. Where the story really shines, however, is in the development of its protagonists. The narrative is told from Ella's and Alec's alternating viewpoints. All the characters are fully developed. The chapters where Alec and his dad discuss Alec's actions, and potential consequences, play as genuine and honest conversations between a pragmatic father and his almost-but-not-quite-grown son. Even the members of Ella's ubiquitous best-friend Scooby Doo gang, which could have easily become derivative, are well-defined and multidimensional. This book will quickly take its place alongside Lyon's previous, well-crafted YA novels. VERDICT A tight and engaging mystery with well-defined characters make this excellent choice for libraries serving teens.-Erik Knapp, Davis Library, Plano, TX

      Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

    Title Information+
    • Publisher
      Blink
    • OverDrive Read
      Release date:
    • EPUB eBook
      Release date:
    Digital Rights Information+
    • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

    Status bar:

    You've reached your checkout limit.

    Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

    Close

    You already have this title checked out.

    Want to go to your Checkouts?

    Close

    Recommendation Limit Reached.

    You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 day(s).

    Close

    Sign in to recommend this title.

    Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

    Close

    Enhanced Details

    Close
    Close

    Limited availability

    Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

    is available for days.

    Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

    Close

    Permissions

    Close

    The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

    Close

    Holds

    Total holds:


    Close

    Restricted

    Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

    Close

    You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

    To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

    Close

    Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

    There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

    Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

    Close

    You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

    Close

    This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

    Close

    An unexpected error has occurred.

    If this problem persists, please contact support.

    Close

    Close

    NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

    Close
    Buy it now
    and help our library WIN!
    The Color of Lies
    The Color of Lies
    CJ Lyons
    Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
    A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
    Close
    Close

    There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

    Close
    Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

    You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

    If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

    The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

    You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

    Accept to ContinueCancel